We would like to build a community for Small Basic programmers of any age who like to code. Everyone from total beginner to guru is welcome. Click here to register and share your programming journey!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Microsoft Support for Small Basic
I have a question to litdev if microsoft ended support to small basic then who is currently handling it.
And if anyone is not handling it currently can we update small basic.
ZS
ZS, my understanding is that MS has nothing to do with it any more.  There is no-one left at MS that is able or wants to update it.  There may be technical, political, commercial or just nobody that can do it reasons for this - I don't know.  There were several attempts to create a browser or app version, but the current desktop version 1.2 remains the best in my opinion despite its faults.  sVB has recompiled it with modifications to the language and IDE, I chose to keep the old compiler for consistency, but provide SB-Prime and LD extension.

Also, the original developer of SB Vijaye Raji, who was a MS employee at the time created it in his free time as I understand it (so it never was really a full MS project I don't think).  He maybe still maintains the website, and does maintain the Import/Publish capability, but is not actively developing or promoting it.

So it is up to the community to use it - it would be nice to update it, but frankly if we spent more time programming with what we have rather than thinking of ways to change it the better.
Got it Means We Can Update Small Basic Happy To Hear This We Could Add Some New Interesting Features After Studying Deeply Smile
Anyone Can Describe Some New Features For Small Basic That We Could Add To SB In Feature.
ZS
Or we could just do some programming with it!
[-] The following 2 users Like litdev's post:
  • AbsoluteBeginner, WhTurner