We would like to build a community for Small Basic programmers of any age who like to code. Everyone from total beginner to guru is welcome. Click here to register and share your programming journey!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
LDServer / LDClient without network
If I unplug the network, both commands no longer work.
Is there a way to use IP port management on a local computer?

Another question regarding the AI championship:
Can the clients and the server program manage their windows as desired (text window/graphics window/hide)?
Is the playground ("Nature") better located in a client or server?
Or is the server always a text window?
Hi Scout, I missed this earlier!

On the first point, if you have no network then local IP are not set, they are set by router.  However I think you can use loopback IP if you have no LAN router connection.  To do this set IP to loopback using LDServer.IP = "127.0.0.1" as the first line in server program.

For the AI challenge its kind of up to you guys how it works - I don't want to interfere too much.  But... all that is usually passed is the data that the clients choose to pass (e.g. key stroke or next move or current state in some way).  It is then up to the other clients to update themselves and make their next moves.  Therefore the client program will have all the code to run the game, graphics, sprites etc.  The server has nothing - it just manages message passing between clients.  The clients will share a lot of code - the game play and graphics, but differ in their AI.

Having said that since clients are usually people playing the game and want to see it, in this case it is possible for all the visuals to be with the server and the clients just be the AI bots.  In this case the server is not 'Auto' more like the sample LDServer.sb rather than LDServerAuto.sb.  Lots of options to ponder!