We would like to build a community for Small Basic programmers of any age who like to code. Everyone from total beginner to guru is welcome. Click here to register and share your programming journey!

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Small Basic Only Extension
LitDev,

I did see that imagelist.downloadfile went into a temp file. I was thinking there has to be something that we're not seeing. Thanks for checking on things that have me stumped. It's good to have someone to work with that is a whole lot smarter than me.

JR
OK, I understand the issue I think.

SmallBasicLibrary uses Network.DownloadFile for all network file access, including within ImageList.LoadImage.

The code for DownloadFile includes this to read the data:

Code:
long num = webResponse.ContentLength;
stream2 = webResponse.GetResponseStream();
while (num > 0)
{
int num2 = stream2.Read(buffer, 0, 16384);
stream.Write(buffer, 0, num2);
num -= num2;
}

This fails for Flickr image urls as we know, using Network.DownloadFile or ImageList.LoadImage.

The code I use in LDBasic.DownloadFile is slightly different (apart from the SSL stuff):

Code:
                Stream stream = webResponse.GetResponseStream();
                int readCount = stream.Read(buffer, 0, bufferSize);
                while (readCount > 0)
                {
                    fs.Write(buffer, 0, readCount);
                    readCount = stream.Read(buffer, 0, bufferSize);
                }

So SmallBasicLibrary tests webResponse.ContentLength to check size.  Google 'webResponse.ContentLength' if interested.

The documentation for it states:

Quote:The ContentLength property contains the value of the Content-Length header returned with the response. If the Content-Length header is not set in the response, ContentLength is set to the value -1.