Posts: 559
Threads: 40
Likes Received:
445 in 307 posts
Likes Given: 213
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
20
AB,
Note that the rotate command is relative to current direction, so -90 is turn left and 90 is turn right - more like the Turtle commands.
Posts: 559
Threads: 40
Likes Received:
445 in 307 posts
Likes Given: 213
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
20
On the point that the current position is not updated to the server until an animation is fully completed. This isn't actually true, it is updated regularly (so that the Observer and other multi-player systems can see each other's movement). Of course you can only be sure you have the final animated position of your robot when it is completely finished animating. However, new commands can be sent and exist on the server until an animation is completely finished and it is used, but only then so it is generally best to wait fully.
Posts: 559
Threads: 40
Likes Received:
445 in 307 posts
Likes Given: 213
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
20
02-18-2025, 05:30 PM
(This post was last modified: 02-18-2025, 07:15 PM by litdev.)
Currently if there is a monster in view a distance of 1000 is returned.
You can get rid of the monsters by using a maze (set in settings) with none seeded.
I guess at some point it would be good to just report distance and say if it is a wall, monster or other player. Not sure how to do this with a single distance value as it is now, probably another return data flag?
I don't plan to add anything more, except I may just report the distance to the monster instead of 1000 and find some other way to say it is a monster using a flag for example. If there is a monster or other player there, then the distance cannot be the distance to the wall behind it since the engine doesn't actually know what is not shown behind another object.
I am open to suggestions on this!
EDIT
I will change so it reports the distance to whatever is there, it will also return a string describing what it saw - this will be the internal object name which will be a wall, enemy or player label.
Hopefully thats it where dist is always the distance to whatever is directly infront of you, and there is also a distLabel string returned saying what it is you see - a little trickier than I thought so hopefully nothing broken - the distance was used to prevent passing through walls and 1000 used for enemies and other players to let us pass throughthem - logic had to change a bit.
Posts: 559
Threads: 40
Likes Received:
445 in 307 posts
Likes Given: 213
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
20
02-19-2025, 04:24 PM
(This post was last modified: 02-19-2025, 04:31 PM by litdev.)
Works well for me, tried it on the 'Visit all cells' game with default maze and it got 94% before returning to start, it will miss some cells between islands or big open areas, but it does navigate the full maze as we would hope.
Posts: 30
Threads: 3
Likes Received:
14 in 11 posts
Likes Given: 51
Joined: Jan 2024
Reputation:
5
02-19-2025, 04:53 PM
(This post was last modified: 02-19-2025, 04:54 PM by stevantosic.)
Yes, the problem is "some cells between islands or big open areas ". Hope will be progress regarding it.