We would like to build a community for Small Basic programmers of any age who like to code. Everyone from total beginner to guru is welcome. Click here to register and share your programming journey!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
3D Programming in SB
(07-07-2024, 06:22 PM)AbsoluteBeginner Wrote: I am surprised by the 3D capabilities of Small Basic that SB received from the LD extension.  Shy
It seems to me that if I see a few more such expressive examples of 3D applications, then I will also have different ideas so that I can test myself in 3D programming.  Rolleyes

To be honest, most of the effort writing this kind of thing is all the extra bits that make a game such as intro screen, scoring, levels, level editor (VLFW776.000-0), testing etc. 

There is also a bit of learning about the basics of 3D - You can see I just use squashed cubes and used spheres which are single commands in SB - you then build objects by having several of them (created and positioned in a for loop).  You need to understand the 3D coordinate system X,Y,Z how to position and point things like objects, lights and the camera and that's about it.

As I say, if you look at the code, the actual 3D stuff is minimal, the rest is just making a game around it.  I am very happy to help you guys get started with this (this is what I hope this forum can be for) - the process is to create small test programs to gain understanding first, just like with your AI game or ZS's extension - its step by step and the magic comes when you put all the little bits together!

Ideally, if a few of you are interested we can start at the beginning and work on 3D, physics or game design.  Otherwise I can only share bits of code occasionally which I don't think gets things so much further forward and may put people off.

How about a 'game of life' in 3D using Elzaimer's idea (https://litdev.uk/mybb/showthread.php?tid=95)?
[-] The following 2 users Like litdev's post:
  • AbsoluteBeginner, z-s