We would like to build a community for Small Basic programmers of any age who like to code. Everyone from total beginner to guru is welcome. Click here to register and share your programming journey!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Import needed class only
Hi all,

I am using ILMerge.exe to convert my small basic exe and dlls to a standalone exe (for sake of sharing). Obviously, ILMerge needs ALL of the Microsoft.Expression.Effects, Drawing, System, etc etc too which would be very annoying. Is there any possible way from which i can only include the needed class in my code or reference the only needed .dll in my directory? (e.g LDCmd.dll, etc)

P.S: Programically speaking, this means "By breaking the extension in parts".

I would be grateful for your help,
Thanks.
Hi,
Not sure I totally follow.  This is my understanding:
You have created a SB program, and compiled it.  You want to combine the required dlls into the exe with ILMerge.

Lots of dlls are added to the exe folder (everything in lib).  To see which are actually needed, recmpile to a new folder and try removing (or renaming) dlls until you have just those actually required.

Existing dlls cannot be split, so there is not such thing as LDCall.dll.

Is is usual to add exe and all required dlls in a single folder, zip this and share the zip, with instructions to install - download, unblock, unzip, run exe.

There are free installers you can use that effectively zip everything into setup file (exe or msi).  These are actually just zips with some scripting to install the bits in the zip.  Also I recently used itch.io for a couple games, and it has nice download/install/run features - you just upload a zip with everything required in it.

If I am missing the point, then please provide more details.

EDIT

If all you need is LDCall, then I guess you could just copy the code and compile it yourself as a small dll - I could help with this.
[-] The following 1 user Likes litdev's post:
  • z-s