We would like to build a community for Small Basic programmers of any age who like to code. Everyone from total beginner to guru is welcome. Click here to register and share your programming journey!

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Small Basic AI Championship
(translated by Google translator)

Hi all.  Shy
Today I tried playing football with a robot that detects the position of the ball on the field using vision.
On my tablet, the "LDImage.FindImageInImage()" function clearly does not have time to find even one white pixel in the required area of the graphics window.
If the game loop becomes shorter than 100 milliseconds, then the robot loses sight of the ball.

Since, probably, the "LDImage.FindImageInImage()" function searches for an image in an image by checking each pixel, then I hope to achieve my goal using the "LDGraphicsWindow.GetPixel()" function.

The ball has a diameter of 20 pixels.
So I think if I search for a white pixel of the ball on the playing field with a step of 10 pixels horizontally and vertically, the program will have to check 100 times fewer pixels.  Undecided
I hope this will allow us to find the ball quickly enough.

( if anyone is interested, I can post the current version with the big-eyed robot so you can try your ideas or find my mistakes )

An incredibly fun process.  Rolleyes

For example, making such a game in C# would not be interesting at all.
But here in Small Basic, you'll need all your ingenuity to make the game work well even on a slow tablet.  Cool

I've used everything I've learned about Small Basic so far.
It seems to me that I have already used all the technical capabilities to achieve a sufficient speed of the game. But, I still lack a little speed.

At first I thought it was already a dead end.
But then a new idea comes to mind again - and the feeling of enthusiasm returns.
I thought that in case of mechanical resources running out, using AI elements could help.