We would like to build a community for Small Basic programmers of any age who like to code. Everyone from total beginner to guru is welcome. Click here to register and share your programming journey!

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
LDPhysics platform game
I'm going to have a go at a LDPhysics based game - I've never actually written a whole game using this, only demos, so fancy having a go.  I liked the approach AbsoluteBegginer took sharing the stages of his development of AI game so plan to do the same here.  LDPhysics uses the Box2D physics engine (as was used for Angry Birds and many other physics based games) and is very powerful, but does need a bit of physics knowledge.  When I added it to LD extension I wrote some documentation for it that you can see here.

I plan the game to be based on a platform system with some main game goal, with a player that can find stuff to help like bombs, arrows to shoot ropes to climb etc.  The player will pick things with left mouse and action things with right mouse button and move with arrow keys.  The physics engine works best with things happen roughly on the scale of 1m, which by default is set to 10 pixels.  Initially I will stick with this and make the game area 1000x800 pixels which corresponds to 100x80 m.  I will make my player 10*25 pixels which is quite small, but see how I get on.

The first challenge is to move the player nicely.  InBox2D you don't generally set position and velocity, you interact through forces, impulses and rotational torques.  This is so the player interacts nicely with the physics world and doesn't just 'teleport' about, get hit by things and can fall off ledges etc.  This may be be tricky, I haven't tried this so will see how it works out.

I will start with a blank game template - NJVR762.000 and will post as it develops - any ideas/suggestions along the way very welcome.
[-] The following 3 users Like litdev's post:
  • AbsoluteBeginner, ata, z-s
I never used LDPhysics.