Posts: 316
Threads: 36
Likes Received:
108 in 85 posts
Likes Given: 214
Joined: Dec 2023
Reputation:
7
Litdev
I converted code into graphics windows
No ui is good I think we should have ldrichtextboxword in svb text box.
Posts: 451
Threads: 34
Likes Received:
359 in 246 posts
Likes Given: 178
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
17
04-03-2024, 06:07 PM
(This post was last modified: 04-03-2024, 06:36 PM by litdev.)
Hi ZS,
I don't really use sVB, but it looks like it uses TextBox in its UI designer. It cannot have RichTextBox functionality, they are different things and it is not one of the controls available in sVB UI designer.
To use a RichTextBox, as far as I can see you can use LD extension, maybe others, but not directly from sVB UI designer, unless you get it implement by sVB developer.
This is one of the reasons I try to keep everything compatible with standard SB and use extensions that can interact with standard SB to add features rather than modify the default compiler or SmallBasicLibrary. sVB changes the compiler and basic functions with each version which makes interacting with non standard functionality (e.g. UI designer) in it through extensions impractical. Starndard SB doesn't change, which means writing extensions for it is worth the effort.
What is the difficulty using GraphicsWindow? - I cannot see anything you are doing that cannot be done with GraphicsWindow.
Posts: 316
Threads: 36
Likes Received:
108 in 85 posts
Likes Given: 214
Joined: Dec 2023
Reputation:
7
Litdev
How can we get caret x,y position in richtextbox.
Posts: 316
Threads: 36
Likes Received:
108 in 85 posts
Likes Given: 214
Joined: Dec 2023
Reputation:
7
It helped but caret mean the line which write text in textbox
Posts: 451
Threads: 34
Likes Received:
359 in 246 posts
Likes Given: 178
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
17
Yes, what do you want from caret position, do you mean the line text and column as I did for mouse over. Row number changes with word wrapping in rtb.
Posts: 316
Threads: 36
Likes Received:
108 in 85 posts
Likes Given: 214
Joined: Dec 2023
Reputation:
7
I want position of the last word was written so to add a list box there
Posts: 451
Threads: 34
Likes Received:
359 in 246 posts
Likes Given: 178
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
17
04-05-2024, 10:05 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-05-2024, 10:07 AM by litdev.)
So that is graphicswindow coordinates or maybe coordinates in RTB not position in the text, different things especially with scrolling.
You are probably not going to be able to do everything SB IDEs do written in SB, some compromises will be needed, especially interface frills. Why not just put the listbox at the bottom for example. I don"t want to over clutter LD extension with very specific stuff, but I will think about this. Get core functionality working first.
Posts: 451
Threads: 34
Likes Received:
359 in 246 posts
Likes Given: 178
Joined: Aug 2023
Reputation:
17
ZS,
I think these are generally useful. RichTextBoxCaretCoordinates and RichTextBoxCaretPosition added and uploaded to Beta LitDev extension, QJDK716.000.